Umbilical cord blood cures heart defects in children

cord-blood

Eve Weiler was at the 20th week of pregnancy, when doctors diagnosed that her yet unborn baby had a heart problem – the left ventricular hypoplasia syndrome. In this case a baby has only half of the heart. Newborns with this pathology usually need 3 operations, but despite this, they still develop heart failure in adulthood.

Doctors at the Children’s Hospital in Los Angeles (USA) have tried a somewhat new approach in the treatment of left ventricular hypoplasia syndrome. They store umbilical cord blood collected after childbirth, isolate stem cells from it, and inject them to small patients directly to the right ventricle during a second surgical intervention. Doctors and parents hope that this will contribute to the development of the myocardium and will delay or prevent the development of heart failure.

There is a program of free of charge storage of umbilical cord blood for children with heart defects in the United States, who have indications for stem cell treatment.

Source: https://www.cbsnews.com/news/stem-cell-technique-babies-with-heart-condition-hlhs/

In Ukraine, the Institute of Cell Therapy in cooperation with the Institute of Molecular Biology and Genetics and the Institute of Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology are developing technologies of the application of stem cells in the treatment of heart defects in children. Also, the Institute of Cell Therapy has a significant positive experience in the use of placental stem cells in the treatment of coronary heart disease and cord blood in the treatment of cardiomyopathy.

Пуповинная кровь лечит пороки сердца у детей

cord-blood

Ева Вайлер была на 20 неделе беременности, когда врачи диагностировали у ее еще нерожденного ребенка порок сердца — синдром гипоплазии левого желудочка. При этом страшном заболевании у малыша есть только половина сердца. Новорожденные с этой патологией обычно требуют 3 операции, но, несмотря на это, во взрослом возрасте у них все равно развивается недостаточность сердца.

Врачи детской больницы в г. Лос-Анджелес (США) пытаются применить нечто новый подход в лечении синдрома гипоплазии левого желудочка. Они сохраняют пуповинную кровь, собранную при родах, выделяют из нее стволовые клетки и вводят их маленьким пациентам во время второго оперативного вмешательства непосредственно в правый желудочек. Врачи и родители надеются, что это будет способствовать развитию миокарда и позволит отсрочить или предотвратить развитие сердечной недостаточности.

В США действует бесплатная программа сохранения пуповинной крови для детей с пороками сердца, которым показано лечение стволовыми клетками.

По материалам: https://www.cbsnews.com/news/stem-cell-technique-babies-with-heart-condition-hlhs/

В Украине Институт клеточной терапии в сотрудничестве с Институтом молекулярной биологии и генетики НАНУ и Институтом педиатрии, акушерства и гинекологии НАМНУ разрабатывает технологии применения стволовых клеток в лечении пороков сердца у детей. Также Институт клеточной терапии имеет значительный положительный опыт применения стволовых клеток плаценты в лечении ишемической болезни сердца и пуповинной крови в лечении кардиомиопатии.